Session Chair Profile

Assistant in pioneering the application of circulating tumor DNA as a cancer diagnostic and a strategy for monitoring emergence of therapeutic resistance in the blood

M.D., Head, Division of Solid Tumor Oncology , MSKCC

Dr. Diaz is a physician-scientist at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. His teams provided the first definitive evidence for using circulating tumor DNA as cancer biomarker for screening, monitoring, and detection of occult disease; and discovered the therapeutic link between immunotherapy and cancer genetics in patients with mismatch repair deficient tumors. This research led to the historic first pan-tumor FDA approval for any solid tumors with this genetic lesion and the first cancer study that resulted in a 100% complete response rate. He is the recipient of numerous recognitions for his work including the Waun Ki Hong Award for Outstanding Achievement in Cancer Research. He is Editor-in-Chief of Cancer Discovery and is an elected member of the Giants of Cancer Care, the AACR Fellows Academy, the American Society of Clinical Investigation, and the American Academy of Physicians. In 2021, Dr. Diaz was appointed by President Joseph Biden to the National Cancer Advisory Board.

 Session Abstract – PMWC 2023 Silicon Valley

Track 4, January 26

Track Chair: Cindy Perettie, Roche

  • PMWC 2023 Award Ceremony
    - Luis Alberto Diaz Jr., MSK
    - Razelle Kurzrock: Medical College of Wisconsin
  • Non-invasive Liquid Biopsy Techniques
    Chair: Razelle Kurzrock, Medical College of Wisconsin
    - Apostolia Tsimberidou, MD Anderson
    - Mandana Kamgar, MD Medical College of Wisconsin
    - Mina Nikanjam, UCSD
    - Ash alizadeh, Stanford University
  • Liquid Biopsy Challenges and Limitations
    Chair: Luis Alberto Diaz Jr., MSK
    - Maximilian Diehn, Stanford
  • Liquid Biopsy in Clinical Trials: Learnings and COVID Experience
  • Liquid Biopsy for Early Cancer Detection
    Chair: Priti Hegde, Foundation Medicine
  • Liquid Biopsy for Minimal Residual Disease (MRD)
    Chair: Minetta Liu, Natera